Print - Close Window
X-Apparently-To: "William Finnerty" <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk> via 217.146.177.13; Fri, 09 Nov 2007 13:35:13 +0000
X-Originating-IP: [217.146.177.6]
Return-Path: <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk>
Authentication-Results: mta148.mail.ukl.yahoo.com from=yahoo.co.uk;
Received: from 217.146.177.6 (HELO web27006.mail.ukl.yahoo.com) (217.146.177.6) by mta148.mail.ukl.yahoo.com with SMTP; Fri, 09 Nov 2007 13:35:13 +0000
Received: (qmail 6756 invoked by uid 60001); 9 Nov 2007 13:35:05 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=yahoo.co.uk; h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:Date:From:Subject:To:Cc:MIME-Version:Content-Type:
Content-Transfer-Encoding:Message-ID; b=Rho7+WpOZxECCiF0o7Vng90A//FvBblj0tfAieX9dPhZSIPBRtTi5yDC7IqMY4IHPBMSj6UoxX9d7Fu/RCHqEzkkCNZ1WGp1Z5G+qTmT/5yU8k
+WtSkaj/B/W5XjTihK7DtHXbeWLMH5LkCeSqgOqvUWRMey0BkphrNNid8/jmo=;
X-YMail-OSG: cm9qr8EVM1nBe3zZ25uW_RHLippRTicBV2wYGskv
Received: from [81.131.56.153] by web27006.mail.ukl.yahoo.com via HTTP; Fri, 09 Nov 2007 13:35:05 GMT
Date: Fri, 9 Nov 2007 13:35:05 +0000 (GMT)
From: "William Finnerty" <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk>
Subject: Media Copy: "CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000" (Republic of Ireland)
To: "RTE (Irish National TV Station)" <newsdesk@rte.ie>, "Sunday World Newspaper" <mairead.kearns@sundayworld.com>, "Sunday Business Post" <sbpost@iol.ie>, "TG4 (Irish Language Station, Republic of Ireland)" <nuacht@tg4.ie>, "The Irish Times" <lettersed@irish-times.ie>, "Eddie Holt (Irish Times Journalist)" <eholt@irish-times.ie>, "Tuam Herald" <editor@tuamherald.ie>, "TV3 (Republic of Ireland)" <info@tv3.ie>, "Tony Galvin (Award Winning Tuam Herald Journalist)" <tgalvin@tuamherald.ie>, "Connacht Tribune Editor (Mr. John Cunningham)" <news@connacht-tribune.ie>, "Galway Advertiser Editor (Mr. Declan Varley)" <dvarley@galwayadvertiser.ie>, "Galway Independent Newspaper" <info@galwayindependent.com>, "Ireland On Sunday" <news@irelandonsunday.com>, "Irish Emigrant Newspaper" <info@emigrant.ie>, "Irish Examiner Newspaper" <jill.osullivan@tcm.ie>, "Irish Independent Newspapers (Unison Group)" <info@unison.ie>, "Mary Brosnan (Journalist, St Albans)" <Noreenbrossnan@aol.com>, "Frank Connolly, Irish Mail on Sunday" <news@dailymail.co.uk>, "Keith Finnegan at Galway Bay FM (local radio)" <news@gbfm.galway.net>, "Village Magazine (Dublin)" <news@villagemagazine.ie>, "Phoenix Magazine (Dublin)" <editor@phoenix-magazine.com>, "Sir Anthony O'Reilly, Newspaper Proprietor" <independent.letters@unison.independent.ie>, "Sharon O'Neill (Chief Reporter) The Irish News" <s.oneill@irishnews.com>, "Editor (Ulster Herald)" <editor@ulsterherald.com>, "Political Correspondent, News Letter Newspaper (Ulster)" <s.dempster@newsletter.co.uk>, "Daily Ireland Newsdesk (Ulster)" <newsdesk@dailyireland.com>, "UTV (Newsroom)" <newsroom@utvplc.com>, "Rupert Murdock" <letters@thetimes.co.uk>, "Sky News" <news@sky.com>, "Phillip Inman, The Guardian" <phillip.inman@guardian.co.uk>, "ITV" <dutyoffice@itv.com>, userhelp@guardian.co.uk, help@ft.com, webmaster@mirror.co.uk, editor@megastar.co.uk, talkback@the-sun.co.uk, dtletters@telegraph.co.uk, editorial@dailymailonline.co.uk, "Polly Toynbee (Journalist & Broadcaster)" <Polly.toynbee@guardian.co.uk>, "Mary Kenny (Journalist)" <mary@marykenny.com>, "Charlie Catchpole (Journalist)" <charlie.catchpole@express.co.uk>, "Virginia Blackburn (Journalist)" <virginiab@homechoice.co.uk>, "Spectator Magazine, Editor" <boris.johnson@spectator.co.uk>, "Michael Grade - BBC" <michael.grade@bbc.co.uk>, "BBC Breakfast" <breakfast@bbc.co.uk>, "BBC NEWS" <newsonline@bbc.co.uk>, "France 24" <webdesk@france24.com>, "Associated Press" <info@ap.org>, "CNN" <cnn@cnn.com>, "Reuters" <uki.media@reuters.com>
CC: "DAWN Group of Newspapers (Pakistan)" <letters@dawn.com>, "Al Jazeera" <listeningpost@aljazeera.net>, "Iraq Foundation" <iraq@iraqfoundation.org>, "Iran Daily" <iran-daily@iran-daily.com>, "PMC" <pmc@palestine-pmc.com>, "The Milli Gazette (India)" <edit@milligazette.com>, "Arab News" <opinion@arabnews.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-1291036000-1194615305=:6193"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Message-ID: <333418.6193.qm@web27006.mail.ukl.yahoo.com>
Content-Length: 26022


"No exceptional circumstances whatsoever, whether a state of war or a threat of war, internal political instability or any other public emergency, may be invoked as a justification of torture."


William Finnerty <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk> wrote:
Date: Fri, 9 Nov 2007 11:18:16 +0000 (GMT)
From: William Finnerty <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk>
Subject: CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000 (Republic of Ireland)
To: "Chief Justice John L. Murray" <SupremeCourt@courts.ie>,
"Brian Lenihan TD (Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform" <Brian.Lenihan@oireachtas.ie>,
"Paul Gallagher S.C. (Attorney General, Republic of Ireland)" <info@ag.irlgov.ie>,
"Mr James Hamilton (Director of Public Prosecutions, Republic of Ireland)" <dppwebmaster@indigo.ie>,
"The Chief State Solicitor (Republic of Ireland)" <contact@csso.gov.ie>,
"Guardian of Republic of Ireland Constitution (President Mary McAleese)" <webmaster@president.ie>,
"Peter Sutherland (Former Attorney General, Chairman of Goldman Sachs International Bank, Steering Committee Member of the Bilderberg Group, and European Chairman of the Trilateral Commission)" <trilateral.europe@wanadoo.fr>,
"Garda Commissioner Noel Conroy (Chief Commissioner of Police, Republic of Ireland)" <comstaff@iol.ie>,
Chief Constable Sir Hugh Orde OBE <information@nipolicingboard.org.uk>
CC:
"Senator Ivana Bacik, Barrister and Reid Professor of Criminal Law, Criminology and Penology at Trinity College Dublin (TCD) Law School" <ivana.bacik@oireachtas.ie>,
"Fianna Fail Party Leader, Prime Minister Bertie Ahern" <taoiseach@taoiseach.irlgov.ie>,
"Dr Walter F. Murphy (Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus at Princeton University)" <wmurphy37@comcast.net>,
"Cllr Phillip Cantwell (MCC and Trim TC)" <PCantwell@meathcoco.ie>,
"John Pilger (Documentary Film Maker)" <pilgereditor@gmail.com>,
"Shauna Gillan (Barrister, Matrix Chambers, London)" <shaunagillan@matrixlaw.co.uk>,
"John Reilly (Barrister, Tooks Chambers, London)" <clerks@tooks.co.uk>,
"Dr Jimmy Devins TD (Minister of State at the Department of Health and Children)" <info@jimmydevins.ie>,
Crooked-Lawyer Catcher <lawyercatcher@lawyer.com>,
"Northern Ireland Social Security Agency (Reference Disability Case Reference 52-82267 for YH615974D)" <Private.Office@dsdni.gov.uk>,
"Nikiforos Diamandouros (The European Ombudsman) Case ref: 1867/2006/IP )" <euro-ombudsman@europarl.eu.int>,
"The Registrar, European Court of Human Rights, Council of Europe, Strasbourg. (Re: ECHR Case Reference: 25077/05)" <infopoint@coe.int>,
Prime Minister Gordon Brown MP <webmaster@pmo.gov.uk>,
"Kathy Sinnott MEP, European Parliament Committee on Petitions" <ksinnott@europarl.eu.int>,
"Dr. Bob Bowman, Lt. Col., USAF, ret." <bob@thepatriots.us>,
"Jose Manuel Barroso (Lawyer & President of European Union Commission)" <sg-web-president@ec.europa.eu>,
"Marcin Libicki MEP (Chairman of European Parliament Committee on Petitions)" <marcin.libicki@europarl.europa.eu>,
"Radu Podgorean MEP (European Parliament Committee on Petitions)" <radu.podgorean@europarl.europa.eu>,
Proinsias De Rossa MEP <pderossa@europarl.eu.int>,
Mairead McGuinness MEP <mmcguinness@europarl.eu.int>,
"Stavros Dimas (Lawyer, and European Union Commissioner for Environment)" <stavros.dimas@ec.europa.eu>,
"John Gormley TD (Green Party Leader & Minister for Environment, Heritage and Local Government)" <john.gormley@oireachtas.ie>,
"US Senator Barack Obama (Constitutional/Civil Rights Lawyer & US Presidential Hopeful)" <info@barackobama.com>,
"UNESCO World Heritage Centre (WHC)" <wh-info@unesco.org>,
World Monuments Fund <wmf@wmf.org>,
"Europa Nostra, Pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage (Mrs Sneška Quaedvlieg MihailoviŠ)" <sg@europanostra.org>,
"Dr Gerard Hogan (Senior Constitutional Lawyer, Fellow, Trinity College, Dublin)" <hogang@tcd.ie>,
"Greg Nolan (Lawyer at Patrick Hogan & Co., Ballinalsloe, County Galway, Republic of Ireland)" <greg@phoganandco.com>,
"Gerard J Madden (Senior Social Worker, Omagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland)" <gmadden@slt.n-i.nhs.uk>,
"Adrian O' Kane (Lawyer at Patrick Fahy & Co, Omagh.)" <adrian.okane@pfahy.com>,
"Progressive Democrats Party Leader, Health Minister Mary Harney" <info@maryharney.ie>,
"Gerald Finnerty & Marjorie Dolan (New Inn, County Galway)" <margieandgerald@yahoo.ie>,
European Commission Representation in Ireland <eu-ie-info-request@ec.europa.eu>,
"Michael Farrell (Lawyer, Irish Human Rights Commissioner)" <info@ihrc.ie>,
"Willie Corduff, Rossport 5" <info@goldmanprize.org>,
"Sir Anthony O'Reilly, Newspaper Proprietor" <independent.letters@unison.independent.ie>,
"Fine Gael Party Leader, Enda Kenny" <Enda.Kenny@oireachtas.ie>,
Transparency International Ireland <info@transparency.ie>,
Jack Straw MP <lordchancellor@dca.gsi.gov.uk>,
Nancy Levant <nlevant@juno.com>,
"Dr Garrett Fitzgerald (Chancellor of the National University of Ireland)" <registrar@nui.ie>,
Law Society of Ireland <general@lawsociety.ie>,
Former US President Bill Clinton <clinton.library@nara.gov>,
"Josep Borrell Fontelles (President of the European Parliament)" <webmasterpresident@europarl.eu.int>,
"Sinn Fein Party Leader, Gerry Adams MP" <info@sinnfein.org>,
Liam Aylward MEP <laylward@europarl.eu.int>,
"Dr Mark Clinton (Heritage Protection Alliance of Ireland Co-ordinator)" <norahbk@eircom.net>,
"Macquarie Bank (PPP Financiers)" <info@macquarie.com.au>,
"David Cameron MP (Leader of UK Opposition Party)" <camerond@parliament.uk>,
"Rev Ian Paisley, Democratic Unionist Party" <info@dup.org.uk>,
"Labour Party Leader, Eamon Gilmore" <eamon.gilmore@oireachtas.ie>,
"Marie Murray (Senior Psychologist & Irish Times Columnist)" <mmurray@irish-times.ie>,
Irish Examiner Newspaper <jill.osullivan@tcm.ie>,
The Law Society of England and Wales <info@lawsociety.org.uk>,
"Majella Mc Carron (Shell to Sea)" <majella_mccarron@yahoo.co.uk>,
"Eamon Ryan TD (Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources" <eamon.ryan@oireachtas.ie>,
Sir Menzies Campbell QC MP <info@libdems.org.uk>,
Suzon Forscey-Moore <suzonfm@aol.com>, Sky News <news@sky.com>,
"Irish Times Editor, Ireland" <lettersed@irish-times.ie>,
Julitta Clancy <julitta1@hotmail.com>,
"Charlie Bird (RTE Chief News Correspondent)" <charlie.bird@rte.ie>,
Executive Intelligence Review <eirns@larouchepub.com>,
Nelson Mandela <nmf@nelsonmandela.org>,
"Former President Mary Robinson (Ethical Globalization Initiative)" <info@eginitiative.org>,
"RTE (Republic of Ireland's National TV Station)" <newsdesk@rte.ie>,
"Dr Joseph E. Stiglitz (University Professor)" <jes322@columbia.edu>,
"Ciara Macklin (Lawyer, Fair & Murtagh)" <ciaramacklin@fair-murtagh.ie>,
Meirion Bowen <meirionbowen@btopenworld.com>,
"Ashley Mote (Independent MEP for South East England Region)" <ashley.mote@btconnect.com>,
Michael Canney <canneym@tcd.ie>,
"President of the Council of the European Union (LuÝs Filipe Marques Amado)" <press.office@consilium.europa.eu>,
Irish Embassy - London <christina.mccormack@dfa.ie>,
"Patrick M. Wood" <editor@augustreview.com>,
"Jacques Barrot (Vice-president of the European Commission with responsibility for Transport" <cab-archive-barrot@ec.europa.eu>,
Dr Paul Craig Roberts <PaulCraigRoberts@yahoo.com>,
"Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe (Thomas Hammarberg)" <commissioner.humanrights@coe.int>,
"Gearoid Geraghty (Lawyer, Fair & Murtagh, Ballinasloe)" <gearoidgeraghty@fair-murtagh.ie>,
Jim Allister MEP <jimallister@dup.org.uk>, Campaign@democracydefined.org,
"Liam Cashman (Environmental Directorate, The European Commission)" <Liam-Joseph.Cashman@ec.europa.eu>,
"Minister Trevor Sargent TD (Green Party)" <Trevor.Sargent@oireachtas.ie>,
"Venice Commission (Council of Europe)" <venice@coe.int>,
MhjnAshok2@aol.com,
"PatrickReynolds (Irish in Britain Representation Group)" <patrickreynolds@hotmail.com>,
Dr John Wilson <jhwilson@acay.com.au>,
"The Irish Council for Civil Liberties (ICCL)" <info@iccl.ie>,
Amnesty International UK <press@amnesty.org.uk>,
"President George W. Bush" <president@whitehouse.gov>,
"Ban Ki-moon (Secretary-General of the United Nations)" <public.participation@unece.org>


"No exceptional circumstances whatsoever, whether a state of war or a threat of war, internal political instability or any other public emergency, may be invoked as a justification of torture."
 
==========================
  
CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000 (Republic of Ireland)
by W. Finnerty. Tue Nov 06, 2007 19:48
  
First, a few small samples of the text of this document (which can be viewed in full at http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2000/en/act/pub/0011/print.html ):
  
+++++++++
  
Article 1 
  
1. For the purposes of this Convention, the term “torture” means any act by which severe pain or suffering, whether physical or mental, is intentionally inflicted on a person for such purposes as obtaining from him or a third person information or a confession, punishing him for an act he or a third person has committed or is suspected of having committed, or intimidating or coercing him or a third person, or for any reason based on discrimination of any kind, when such pain or suffering is inflicted by or at the instigation of or with the consent or acquiescence of a public official or other person acting in an official capacity. 
  
Article 2
  
2. No exceptional circumstances whatsoever, whether a state of war or a threat of war, internal political instability or any other public emergency, may be invoked as a justification of torture.
  
+++++++++
  
Allowing for the few small samples provided above, and for other parts of this particular piece of Republic of Ireland legislation, it seems to me that a number of our senior "public servants" (so called) would need to "watch their step" VERY carefully, and that for some it might already be too late? (Among several other things which should be worrying some people, is the fact that one part of this Act very clearly states: "A person guilty of the offence of torture shall be liable on conviction on indictment to imprisonment for life.") 
  
Such dangers are particularly real, if for ANY reason our lawyers here in the Republic of Ireland were to do the honourable and genuinely democratic thing, and to follow the example at present being set by their counterparts in Pakistan: who, as many will already know, are at the present time rightfully demanding a return to "constitutional law" (and away from the BOGUS unconstitutional and illegal law of the despots and the plutocrats) - which is EXACTLY the kind of major change-of-direction the Republic of Ireland now also desperately needs (in my view). 
  
Related link: http://www.europeancourtofhumanrightswilliamfinnerty.com/ChiefJusticeMurray/2November2007/Email.htm  
  

==========================
  
The above text has been copied from the following Indymedia (Ireland) location:
http://www.indymedia.ie/article/84853#comment211597
 
==================
 
For future reference purposes a copy of this e-mail will later today be placed at the following Internet location:
http://www.europeancourtofhumanrightswilliamfinnerty.com/ChiefJusticeMurray/9November2007/Email.htm 
 
==========
 
 


Juggling multiple email accounts? Why bother? Consolidate them all in Yahoo! Mail with our quick, easy tool.


 

              --- End of e-mail text ---

 

To be taken to the Front Page of this web site please click on the following link:

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com

 


Constitution of Ireland:
Bunreacht na hEireann

CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE
and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (United Nations):

http://www.google.com/search?q=CONVENTION+AGAINST+TORTURE&btnG=Google+Search 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000 (Republic Of Ireland):
http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA11Y2000.html

European Convention on Human Rights (Council of Europe):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=European+Convention+on+Human+Rights&btnG=Search

Universal Declaration of Human Rights (United Nations):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=Universal+Declaration+of+Human+Rights&btnG=Search 


 

 

 

AltaVista        TRANSLATIONS        AltaVista  

     | Traductions | ▄bersetzungen | Traduzioni | Traduš§es | Traducciones |
| переводы | 翻訳  |  번역  |  
翻译 | Μεταφράσεις
|

 
   
     
  Please click on one of the National Flags to the left for translation into any of the languages represented.

For the full LIST of language translation facilities available please click on:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/

 
     
 
 
 

              Google
 
     
 

This web site is linked with:
www.constitutionofireland.com

 
     

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com