Print - Close Window
To: "The United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights" <ngochr@ohchr.org>, "Crooked Lawyers" <Crooked-Lawyers@yahoogroups.com>, "Crooked Lawyers" <lawyercatcher@lawyer.com>, "Nature Ireland" <natureireland@yahoogroups.com>, TheCelticParty@yahoogroups.com, "Green Power Yahoo Group)" <GREEN_POWER@yahoogroups.com>, "Save Tara (Yahoo Group)" <savetara@yahoogroups.com>, "Michael Canney" <canneym@tcd.ie>, "Protect Tara (Germany)" <protect-tara@gmx.net>, "Sinn FÚin general election candidate for Meath West, Councillor Joe Reilly" <editor@anphoblacht.com>, "Phillip Cantwell (Independent County Councillor for Meath)" <PCantwell@meathcoco.ie>, "Liam Cashman (Environmental Directorate, The European Commission)" <Liam-Joseph.Cashman@ec.europa.eu>, "Stavros Dimas (Lawyer, and European Union Commissioner for Environment)" <stavros.dimas@ec.europa.eu>
CC: "Michael Farrell (Lawyer, Irish Human Rights Commissioner)" <info@ihrc.ie>, "Gerard J Madden (Senior Social Worker, Omagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland)" <gmadden@slt.n-i.nhs.uk>, "Adrian O' Kane (Lawyer at Patrick Fahy & Co, Omagh)" <adrian.okane@pfahy.com>, "Gerald Finnerty & Marjorie Dolan (New Inn, County Galway)" <margieandgerald@yahoo.ie>, "Dr. Bob Bowman, Lt. Col., USAF, ret." <bob@thepatriots.us>, "Dr Robyn Adams" <moltengold@adam.com.au>, "Dr Brian Martin" <bmartin@uow.edu.au>, "Dr John Wilson" <jhwilson@acay.com.au>, "Tommy Standun (Independent Producer for RTE)" <tommy.standun@RTE.ie>, "Pat Kenny (RTE Broadcaster)" <todaypk@rte.ie>, "Charlie Bird (RTE Chief News Correspondent)" <charlie.bird@rte.ie>, "John Gormley TD (Minister for Environment, Heritage and Local Government)" <john.gormley@oireachtas.ie>, "Eamon Ryan TD (Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources" <eamon.ryan@oireachtas.ie>, "Kathy Sinnott MEP, European Parliament Committee on Petitions" <ksinnott@europarl.eu.int>, "Marcin Libicki MEP (Chairman of European Parliament Committee on Petitions)" <marcin.libicki@europarl.europa.eu>, "Radu Podgorean MEP (European Parliament Committee on Petitions)" <radu.podgorean@europarl.europa.eu>
From: "Vercingetorix (Ireland)" <vercingetorixireland@yahoo.ie>
Date: Wed, 5 Dec 2007 11:20:18 +0000 (GMT)
Subject: [Celtic Party] IHRC (Irish Human Rights Commission) Report


"Put another way, the Irish Human Rights Commission (as I see things) can 'talk the talk' all right: but, they can't 'walk the walk' - which is what really matters, and the ONLY thing that really counts (in my view) as far as the actual VICTIMS of human rights abuse (such as myself for example) are concerned."

====================================

IHRC Report
by W. Finnerty. Wed Dec 05, 2007 10:15

Edward (at Tue Dec 04, 2007 23:12),

By "IHRC" I assume you mean the "Irish Human Rights Commission" (at http://www.ihrc. ie/home/default. asp ).

All of my experience with the IHRC suggests they are unable to help in any MEANINGFUL way with human rights abuses - at least not at the present time.

As often (always?) seems to be the case with such government backed (and funded I assume) organisations, they appear to me (at the present time at least) as nothing more than a "Window Dressing" type of operation - which has been put in place by the State to create and maintain the illusion (for general public consumption) that the Republic of Ireland takes human rights seriously; and, as such, unfortunately, they are (in effect), and without meaning to perhaps (as individuals) , part of the PROBLEM (of human rights abuse), and most definitely NOT any part of the solution (in my view).

Put another way, the Irish Human Rights Commission (as I see things) can "talk the talk" all right: but, they can't "walk the walk" - which is what really matters, and the ONLY thing that really counts (in my view) as far as the actual VICTIMS of human rights abuse (such as myself for example) are concerned.

Being "genuine" is not enough; those involved with the Irish Human Rights Commission also need to be able "to take the bull by the horns": and to deal EFFECTIVELY with the actual PRACTICAL problems of human rights abuse which they are informed about on a day-to-day basis (by Republic of Ireland citizens, such as myself for example).

Please note that Michael Farrell (Lawyer & Irish Human Rights Commissioner) is among those in the "CC" list of the registered e-mail letter I sent to our Chief Justice John L. Murray on August 28th 2007 at http://www.european courtofhumanrightswilliamfinnerty.com/ChiefJusti ceMurray/28August2007/Letter.htm 

However, I have not heard a SINGLE word from Mr Farrell to date: a fact which speaks for itself I feel.

Far worse of course, neither have I heard a single word from our Chief Justice John L. Murray, nor from any of his senior law officer colleagues.

Related Link: http://www.constitutionofireland. com

====================================

The above text has been copied from the following Indymedia (Ireland) location:
http://www.indymedia.ie/article/85339#comment214702     BACKUP


Send instant messages to your online friends http://uk.messenger .yahoo.com

__._,_.___
Y! Messenger

Files to share?

Send up to 1GB of

files in an IM.

Moderator Central

An online resource

for moderators

of Yahoo! Groups.

Wellness Spot

Embrace Change

Break the Yo-Yo

weight loss cycle.

.

__,_._,___

              --- End of e-mail text ---

 

To be taken to the Front Page of this web site please click on the following link:

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com

 


Constitution of Ireland:
Bunreacht na hEireann

CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE
and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (United Nations):

http://www.google.com/search?q=CONVENTION+AGAINST+TORTURE&btnG=Google+Search 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000 (Republic Of Ireland):
http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA11Y2000.html

European Convention on Human Rights (Council of Europe):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=European+Convention+on+Human+Rights&btnG=Search

Universal Declaration of Human Rights (United Nations):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=Universal+Declaration+of+Human+Rights&btnG=Search 


 

 

 

AltaVista        TRANSLATIONS        AltaVista  

     | Traductions | ▄bersetzungen | Traduzioni | Traduš§es | Traducciones |
| переводы | 翻訳  |  번역  |  
翻译 | Μεταφράσεις
|

 
   
     
  Please click on one of the National Flags to the left for translation into any of the languages represented.

For the full LIST of language translation facilities available please click on:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/

 
     
 
 
 

              Google
 
     
 

This web site is linked with:
www.constitutionofireland.com

 
     

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com