Print - Close Window
To: "The United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights" <ngochr@ohchr.org>, "Crooked Lawyers" <Crooked-Lawyers@yahoogroups.com>, "Crooked Lawyers" <lawyercatcher@lawyer.com>, "Nature Ireland" <natureireland@yahoogroups.com>, TheCelticParty@yahoogroups.com, "Green Power Yahoo Group)" <GREEN_POWER@yahoogroups.com>, "Save Tara (Yahoo Group)" <savetara@yahoogroups.com>, "Michael Canney" <canneym@tcd.ie>, "Protect Tara (Germany)" <protect-tara@gmx.net>, "Sinn FÚin general election candidate for Meath West, Councillor Joe Reilly" <editor@anphoblacht.com>, "Phillip Cantwell (Independent County Councillor for Meath)" <PCantwell@meathcoco.ie>, "Liam Cashman (Environmental Directorate, The European Commission)" <Liam-Joseph.Cashman@ec.europa.eu>, "Stavros Dimas (Lawyer, and European Union Commissioner for Environment)" <stavros.dimas@ec.europa.eu>
CC: "Dr. Bob Bowman, Lt. Col., USAF, ret." <bob@thepatriots.us>, "Dr Robyn Adams" <moltengold@adam.com.au>, "Dr Brian Martin" <bmartin@uow.edu.au>, "Dr John Wilson" <jhwilson@acay.com.au>, "Tommy Standun (Independent Producer for RTE)" <tommy.standun@RTE.ie>, "Pat Kenny (RTE Broadcaster)" <todaypk@rte.ie>, "Charlie Bird (RTE Chief News Correspondent)" <charlie.bird@rte.ie>, "John Gormley TD (Minister for Environment, Heritage and Local Government)" <john.gormley@oireachtas.ie>, "Eamon Ryan TD (Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources" <eamon.ryan@oireachtas.ie>, "Kathy Sinnott MEP, European Parliament Committee on Petitions" <ksinnott@europarl.eu.int>, "Marcin Libicki MEP (Chairman of European Parliament Committee on Petitions)" <marcin.libicki@europarl.europa.eu>, "Radu Podgorean MEP (European Parliament Committee on Petitions)" <radu.podgorean@europarl.europa.eu>
From: "Vercingetorix (Ireland)" <vercingetorixireland@yahoo.ie>
Date: Tue, 4 Dec 2007 12:19:16 +0000 (GMT)
Subject: [Celtic Party] Dangerous mindset


"This mindset about it being okay for some people to break the law is one which we in the Republic of Ireland DESPERATELY need to fully decommission as soon as possible (in my view): not encourage, distract from, or support in any way."
 
========================
 
Dangerous mindset
by W. Finnerty. Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:08 
 
From "Monday December 03, 2007 22:53" above:
 
"These are the same gardai (Republic of Ireland police) that are daily refusing to comply with the Criminal Justice (UN Convention Against Torture Act) 2002, by failing to investigate and prevent complicity in the crime of torture at Shannon airport."
 
Are they breaking the law by doing so?
 
If so, why are they not being hauled before our courts of law?
 
We (the Republic of Ireland) have our own CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000 (please see http://www.irishstatutebook. ie/2000/en/ act/pub/0011/index.html ). 
 
The legal situation regarding the "acquiescence of a public official" seems very clear (to me), and it is set out in Article 1.1 of the above mentioned Act.
 
Though I continue to value your reports (very much), it concerns me that they may well be taken to mean (by many) that it is somehow OKAY for SOME people (our POLICE in this case) to break the law with impunity.
 
This mindset about it being okay for some people to break the law is one which we in the Republic of Ireland DESPERATELY need to fully decommission as soon as possible (in my view): not encourage, distract from, or support in any way.
 
Best wishes with your efforts nonetheless.
 
Related link: http://www.europeancourtofhumanrightswilliamfinnert y.com/ChiefJusticeMurray/28August2007/Letter.htm
 
========================
 
The above text has been copied from the following Indymedia (Ireland) location:
http://www.indymedia.ie/article/85339#comment214547
 
 
 
 

Send instant messages to your online friends http://uk.messenger .yahoo.com

__._,_.___
Y! Messenger

Instant smiles

Share photos while

you IM friends.

Yahoo! Groups HD

The official Samsung

Y! Group for HDTVs

and devices.

Featured Y! Groups

and category pages.

There is something

for everyone.

.

__,_._,___

              --- End of e-mail text ---

 

To be taken to the Front Page of this web site please click on the following link:

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com

 


Constitution of Ireland:
Bunreacht na hEireann

CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE
and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (United Nations):

http://www.google.com/search?q=CONVENTION+AGAINST+TORTURE&btnG=Google+Search 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000 (Republic Of Ireland):
http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA11Y2000.html

European Convention on Human Rights (Council of Europe):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=European+Convention+on+Human+Rights&btnG=Search

Universal Declaration of Human Rights (United Nations):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=Universal+Declaration+of+Human+Rights&btnG=Search 


 

 

 

AltaVista        TRANSLATIONS        AltaVista  

     | Traductions | ▄bersetzungen | Traduzioni | Traduš§es | Traducciones |
| переводы | 翻訳  |  번역  |  
翻译 | Μεταφράσεις
|

 
   
     
  Please click on one of the National Flags to the left for translation into any of the languages represented.

For the full LIST of language translation facilities available please click on:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/

 
     
 
 
 

              Google
 
     
 

This web site is linked with:
www.constitutionofireland.com

 
     

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com