Print - Close Window
X-Apparently-To: "Gerald Finnerty & Margie Dolan" <margieandgerald@yahoo.ie> via 217.146.189.88; Mon, 25 Jun 2007 05:43:08 -0700
X-Originating-IP: [217.146.177.15]
Return-Path: <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk>
Authentication-Results: mta218.mail.re2.yahoo.com from=yahoo.co.uk;
Received: from 217.146.177.15 (HELO web27015.mail.ukl.yahoo.com) (217.146.177.15) by mta218.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Mon, 25 Jun 2007 05:43:08 -0700
Received: (qmail 96407 invoked by uid 60001); 25 Jun 2007 12:43:07 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=yahoo.co.uk; h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:Date:From:Subject:To:Cc:
MIME-Version:Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding:Message-ID; b=E1lR3pSdb1neTyoFrDxkpo+cA5OfrOCQ0P
0EXPE3L6wGApWkOr3Rp6Itt9STeKRZVzI13sRN4iVQwI3DPIT1b0PZ
ol02O2fm8H8FIuClLSauCwnB4ISvM9XtvNx5+wWErDIV9tkHMOxjSZaB7O4n05pdh7Pb3Fr7ZXLcrgyUUXo=;
X-YMail-OSG: WH92BuEVM1lmh47Hq7RzjysUeTnp9ps00Hkp7lgdWSRJZX3JYG.zzlu5z17qpLOEn7DPjMabVe2ieLl7s_IO5c_iqxcXvhG3TUY
UxVvAHXWcOzCznd.dfgbePL21ITvWvb0IVxtWRPdyIV8ZDtLiP_mX5hh16_3tK7ijl_nwTctH6HqgB9huW3sHvHmdA8UY4NY__0MhxVFuuA--
Received: from [213.122.43.13] by web27015.mail.ukl.yahoo.com via HTTP; Mon, 25 Jun 2007 13:43:07 BST
Date: Mon, 25 Jun 2007 13:43:07 +0100 (BST)
From: "William Finnerty" <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk>
Subject: PPP Toll Road at Tara & "The Book of Rights" (Brehon Law)
To: "John Gormley TD (Minister for Environment, Heritage and Local Government)" <john.gormley@oireachtas.ie>, "Brian Lenihan TD (Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform" <Brian.Lenihan@oireachtas.ie>, "Chief Justice John L. Murray" <SupremeCourt@courts.ie>, "Paul Gallagher S.C. (Attorney General, Republic of Ireland)" <info@ag.irlgov.ie>, "Mr James Hamilton (Director of Public Prosecutions, Republic of Ireland)" <dppwebmaster@indigo.ie>, "The Chief State Solicitor (Republic of Ireland)" <contact@csso.gov.ie>, "Guardian of Republic of Ireland Constitution (President Mary McAleese)" <webmaster@president.ie>, "Peter Sutherland (Former Attorney General, Chairman of Goldman Sachs International Bank, Steering Committee Member of the Bilderberg Group, and European Chairman of the Trilateral Commission)" <trilateral.europe@wanadoo.fr>, "Garda Commissioner Noel Conroy (Chief Commissioner of Police, Republic of Ireland)" <comstaff@iol.ie>, "Chief Constable Sir Hugh Orde OBE" <information@nipolicingboard.org.uk>
CC: "Barack Obama (Civil Rights Lawyer & US Presidential Hopeful)" <info@barackobama.com>, "UNESCO World Heritage Centre (WHC) webmaster" <wh-info@unesco.org>, "World Monuments Fund" <wmf@wmf.org>, "Europa Nostra, Pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage (Mrs Sneška Quaedvlieg MihailoviŠ)" <sg@europanostra.org>, "Dr Gerard Hogan (Senior Constitutional Lawyer, Fellow, Trinity College, Dublin)" <hogang@tcd.ie>, "Greg Nolan (Lawyer at Patrick Hogan & Co., Ballinalsloe, County Galway, Republic of Ireland)" <greg@phoganandco.com>, "Gerard J Madden (Senior Social Worker, Omagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland)" <gmadden@slt.n-i.nhs.uk>, "Adrian Kane (Lawyer at Patrick Fahy & Co, Omagh.)" <adrian.okane@pfahy.com>, "Progressive Democrats Party Leader, Health Minister Mary Harney" <info@maryharney.ie>, "Gerald Finnerty & Marjorie Dolan (New Inn, County Galway)" <margieandgerald@yahoo.ie>, "European Commission Representation in Ireland" <eu-ie-info-request@ec.europa.eu>, "Michael Farrell (Lawyer, Irish Human Rights Commissioner)" <info@ihrc.ie>, "Patrick Cullinane" <patrick.cullinane@tiscali.co.uk>, "Maurice Kellett" <m.kellett@tiscali.co.uk>, "Willie Corduff, Rossport 5" <info@goldmanprize.org>, "Sir Anthony O'Reilly, Newspaper Proprietor" <independent.letters@unison.independent.ie>, "Fine Gael Party Leader, Enda Kenny" <Enda.Kenny@oireachtas.ie>, "Transparency International Ireland" <info@transparency.ie>, "Lord Charles Falconer:MCA" <lordchancellor@dca.gsi.gov.uk>, "John Reid, HomeOffice" <public.enquiries@homeoffice.gsi.gov.uk>, "Dr Garrett Fitzgerald (Chancellor of the National University of Ireland)" <registrar@nui.ie>, "Noel O'Gara" <noelogara@yahoo.com>, "Law Society of Ireland" <general@lawsociety.ie>, "Former US President Bill Clinton" <clinton.library@nara.gov>, "Josep Borrell Fontelles (President of the European Parliament)" <webmasterpresident@europarl.eu.int>, "Sinn Fein Party Leader, Gerry Adams MP" <info@sinnfein.org>, "Clare Short MP (House of Commons, London)" <shortc@parliament.uk>, "Liam Aylward MEP" <laylward@europarl.eu.int>, "Dr Mark Clinton (Heritage Protection Alliance of Ireland Co-ordinator)" <norahbk@eircom.net>, "Macquarie Bank (PPP Financiers)" <info@macquarie.com.au>, "David Cameron MP (Leader of UK Opposition Party)" <camerond@parliament.uk>, "Rev Ian Paisley, Democratic Unionist Party" <info@dup.org.uk>, dmcgoldrick@irishvoice.com, "Labour Party Leader, Pat Rabbitte" <Pat.Rabbitte@oireachtas.ie>, "Marie Murray (Senior Psychologist & Irish Times Columnist)" <mmurray@irish-times.ie>, "Irish Examiner Newspaper" <jill.osullivan@tcm.ie>, "The Law Society of England and Wales" <info@lawsociety.org.uk>, "Majella Mc Carron (Shell to Sea)" <majella_mccarron@yahoo.co.uk>, "Eamon Ryan TD (Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources" <eamon.ryan@oireachtas.ie>, "Sir Menzies Campbell QC MP" <info@libdems.org.uk>, "Phillip Inman, The Guardian" <phillip.inman@guardian.co.uk>, "Prime Minister Tony Blair MP" <webmaster@pmo.gov.uk>, "Suzon Forscey-Moore" <suzonfm@aol.com>, "Sky News" <news@sky.com>, "Ken Livingstone, Mayor" <mayor@london.gov.uk>, "JamesMurrayExpressNews" <james.murray@express.co.uk>, "News desk LimerickLeader" <editorial@limerickleader.ie>, "Irish Times Editor, Ireland" <lettersed@irish-times.ie>, "Jose Manuel Barroso (President of EU Commission)" <sg-web-president@ec.europa.eu>, bruce.kennedy@itvwales.com, "Charlie Bird (RTE Chief News Correspondent)" <charlie.bird@rte.ie>, "The Registrar, European Court of Human Rights, Council of Europe, Strasbourg. (Re: ECHR Case Reference: 25077/05)" <infopoint@coe.int>, "Executive Intelligence Review" <eirns@larouchepub.com>, "United Press International" <pressreleases@upi.com>, "RTE (Republic of Ireland's National TV Station)" <newsdesk@rte.ie>, Kuntzman@BrooklynPaper.com, "Nigel Farage, MEP, UKIP" <mail@ukip.org>, "Michael Meacher MP" <meacherm@parliament.uk>, "Fianna Fail Party Leader, Prime Minister Bertie Ahern" <taoiseach@taoiseach.irlgov.ie>, "Ciara Macklin (Lawyer, Fair & Murtagh)" <ciaramacklin@fair-murtagh.ie>, Arthur.Morgan@oireachtas.ie, "Margot.Wallstrom (Vice President of EU Commission)" <Margot.Wallstrom@ec.europa.eu>, "Dafydd Morgan" <mail@standyourground.co.uk>, "Meirion Bowen" <meirionbowen@btopenworld.com>, "Ashley Mote (Independent MEP for South East England Region)" <ashley.mote@btconnect.com>, "MauriceKirk" <maurice@kirkflyingvet.com>, ladyl.cooper@btinternet.com, "President of the Council of the European Union (Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier)" <press.office@consilium.europa.eu>, "Irish Embassy - London" <christina.mccormack@dfa.ie>, "Patrick M. Wood" <editor@augustreview.com>, "Jacques Barrot (Vice-president of the European Commission with responsibility for Transport" <cab-archive-barrot@ec.europa.eu>, "Paul Talbot-Jenkins" <Paul.talbot-jenkins@virgin.net>, "Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe (Thomas Hammarberg)" <commissioner.humanrights@coe.int>, "Gearoid Geraghty (Lawyer, Fair & Murtagh, Ballinasloe)" <gearoidgeraghty@fair-murtagh.ie>, "Jean Hooper" <jean_hooper95@msn.com>, "Jim Allister MEP" <jimallister@dup.org.uk>, Campaign@democracydefined.org, "Liam Cashman (Environmental Directorate, The European Commission)" <Liam-Joseph.Cashman@ec.europa.eu>, "Green Party Leader, Trevor Sargent" <Trevor.Sargent@oireachtas.ie>, "Venice Commission (Council of Europe)" <venice@coe.int>, MhjnAshok2@aol.com, "Nikiforos Diamandouros (The European Ombudsman) Case ref: 1867/2006/IP )" <euro-ombudsman@europarl.eu.int>, "PatrickReynolds (Irish in Britain Representation Group)" <patrickreynolds@hotmail.com>, "Dr John Wilson" <jhwilson@acay.com.au>, "Amnesty International UK" <press@amnesty.org.uk>, "Irish Heritage Club (United States)" <webmaster@irishclub.org>, "President George W. Bush" <president@whitehouse.gov>, "Ban Ki-moon (Secretary-General of the United Nations)" <public.participation@unece.org>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-1086112936-1182775387=:95743"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Message-ID: <263197.95743.qm@web27015.mail.ukl.yahoo.com>
Content-Length: 3811
       
       
 

"Around 1700 AD, Samuel Johnson talked of the Magna Carta being 'born with a grey beard'."  
       

============================================
 
"Book of Rights" (Brehon Law)
by W. Finnerty. Sat Jun 23, 2007 18:25
 
"But these five large volumes do not by any means contain the whole of Irish law (Brehon Law) literature, which, in its widest sense, that is, including such pieces as the 'Book of Rights', would probably fill at least TEN such volumes." 
 
As some will already know, the Magna Carta ("The Great Charter of Freedoms" produced in England in 1215 AD) is surrounded by vague and tantalising myths which strongly suggest that the "essentials" of this world-famous legal document came from a much, much earlier period of human history - which is usually referred to as "The Golden Age", and which may embrace the days of "The Golden Fleece" possibly - in the "time of Homer" (eighth century BC or possibly earlier).
 
Around 1700 AD, Samuel Johnson (for instance) talked of the Magna Carta being "born with a grey beard".
 
I wonder if by any chance the source of these myths might be the Brehon Law "Book of Rights" associated with the "Great Feast of Tara"?
 
"There are many more valuable Brehon documents still untranscribed in the library of Trinity College (Dublin), in the British Museum, and in the Bodleian Library (Oxford University, England) and possibly some fragments in the Royal Irish Academy and other repositories." (From http://www.newadvent.org/cathen/02753a.htm )
 
How long is this priceless Brehon Law "Book of Rights" going to remain "untranscribed" I wonder - having due regard for the fact that Brehon Law is widely believed to be the oldest and most compassionate set of laws in Europe: and very likely just as old, or possibly older, as anything connected with Homer? 
 
The Brehon Law "Book of Rights" is a very large and comprehensive set of "Golden Laws" from the "Golden Age" maybe? - which, given the opportunity, might out-shine the Magna Carta in a really big way perhaps?
 
Related Link: http://www.kingollamhfodhla.com/
 
============================================
 
The above text has been copied from the following Indymedia (Ireland) location:
http://www.indymedia.ie/article/82708&comment_limit=0&condense_comments=false#comment198905 
 
=====================
 
Information on the PPP (Public Private Partnership) M3 Toll Road at present scheduled to go through the Hill of Tara area can be found via the following link: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=Tara%2C+Brehon+Law%2C+PPP+&btnG=Search .
 
During recent months, it appears that a number of extremely important ancient heritage sites closely associated with the Hill of Tara have already been completely destroyed as a direct result of this PPP project (or the "Plunder Plunder Plunder" project as some people have now come to think of it). 
 
A number of other important heritage sites in the area have also been badly damaged apparently.
 
Unless something of significance is done soon to prevent it, the same fate awaits many more of the ancient heritage sites which form an integral part of the overall set of sites connected with the Hill of Tara, Brehon Law, and King Ollamh Fodhla.
 
Information on King Ollamh Fodhla can be found at http://www.kingollamhfodhla.com/ .
 
According to the Annals of Ireland by the Four Masters (written in Donegal between 1632-36 AD), King Ollamh Fodhla reigned over Ireland for a forty year period between 1317 and 1277 BC.  A scanned copy of the actual text containing this statement can be found at the following address: http://homepage.eircom.net/~williamfinnerty/name/annals.htm
 
As can be seen at the address just above, the text of
the Annals of Ireland by the Four Masters also states very clearly that: 
 
"He (King Ollamh Fodhla) was the first king by whom the Feis-Teamhrach (The Great Feast of Tara) was established.
 
The main purpose of the regularly held "Great Feast of Tara" appears to have been the nationwide installation, policing, and maintenance of Brehon Law.
 
It seems Brehon Law was used throughout the whole Island of Ireland for a period of around 2,500 years, and right up to the time of the Anglo-Norman Invasion in 1169 AD. Following that, it began to gradually get stamped out - and replaced by English Law.
 
By around the mid 1600s AD, Brehon Law - which was very, very different in several respects to English Law - had completely vanished from everyday life in Ireland.
 
=====================
 
"Government of the people, by the people, for the people"
 
"Lincoln's Last Warning" to the despots of his time - which appeared a few months before he issued his great Emancipation Proclamation (declaring all slaves in the United States forever free) on the 1st of January, 1863:
 

"Now, if you don't come down, I'll cut the tree from under you."
 

=====================
 
Related web site: http://www.europeancourtofhumanrightswilliamfinnerty.com/ 
 
 

 
 


Are you a hoarder? Then you'll love Yahoo! Mail with unlimited storage.


 

              --- End of e-mail text ---

 

To be taken to the Front Page of this web site please click on the following link:

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com

 


Constitution of Ireland:
Bunreacht na hEireann

CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE
and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (United Nations):

http://www.google.com/search?q=CONVENTION+AGAINST+TORTURE&btnG=Google+Search 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000 (Republic Of Ireland):
http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA11Y2000.html

European Convention on Human Rights (Council of Europe):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=European+Convention+on+Human+Rights&btnG=Search

Universal Declaration of Human Rights (United Nations):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=Universal+Declaration+of+Human+Rights&btnG=Search 


 

 

 

AltaVista        TRANSLATIONS        AltaVista  

     | Traductions | ▄bersetzungen | Traduzioni | Traduš§es | Traducciones |
| переводы | 翻訳  |  번역  |  
翻译 | Μεταφράσεις
|

 
   
     
  Please click on one of the National Flags to the left for translation into any of the languages represented.

For the full LIST of language translation facilities available please click on:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/

 
     
 
 
 

              Google
 
     
 

This web site is linked with:
www.constitutionofireland.com

 
     

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com