Print - Close Window
X-Apparently-To: Gerald Finnerty & Margie Dolan <margieandgerald@yahoo.ie> via 217.146.189.91; Thu, 15 Nov 2007 07:25:14 -0800
X-Originating-IP: [217.146.177.5]
Return-Path: <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk>
Authentication-Results: mta501.mail.mud.yahoo.com from=yahoo.co.uk;
Received: from 217.146.177.5 (HELO web27005.mail.ukl.yahoo.com) (217.146.177.5) by mta501.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; Thu, 15 Nov 2007 07:25:14 -0800
Received: (qmail 27643 invoked by uid 60001); 15 Nov 2007 15:25:07 -0000
DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=yahoo.co.uk; h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:Date:From:Subject:To:Cc:MIME-Version:Content-Type:
Content-Transfer-Encoding:Message-ID; b=lAZ50HaPL1kWxLDarF6SLw7IdDdjL5DddngV3PB9w5+LzrNXzO9aA5CFrk6v8k5GGY6IzXXkl/UgYj01m/
e3EzWshSpGmV9PoolEFkhvojAUan+
wMwU14weNaBfLRYslx0QnceknA5qgBSjzL76uZsmdH+19dUND1YlhzPCmKNk=;
X-YMail-OSG: Ppsvn0kVM1nM3QRjwHuWLzAuLSTv4thUM7T173HrwPTLmcmSraR67dQ.XzQIB.JcgR7CFcs5goH31OB70vkc2ipisczjzobkQCbdSCXa2_ImT49oB
neEi3TFb50Kk6sNeUeXHsysIs9tkVRcM_.TkxxEqoUsl72zETCrsDfIQrXQGMKIZrYCeVyGOlSsHUnD0QzQqfs-
Received: from [213.122.50.113] by web27005.mail.ukl.yahoo.com via HTTP; Thu, 15 Nov 2007 15:25:06 GMT
Date: Thu, 15 Nov 2007 15:25:06 +0000 (GMT)
From: "William Finnerty" <newinngalway@yahoo.co.uk>
Subject: "Nobody told us" excuse decommissioned ...
To: "Chief Justice John L. Murray" <SupremeCourt@courts.ie>, "Brian Lenihan TD (Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform" <Brian.Lenihan@oireachtas.ie>, "Paul Gallagher S.C. (Attorney General, Republic of Ireland)" <info@ag.irlgov.ie>, "Mr James Hamilton (Director of Public Prosecutions, Republic of Ireland)" <dppwebmaster@indigo.ie>, "The Chief State Solicitor (Republic of Ireland)" <contact@csso.gov.ie>, "Guardian of Republic of Ireland Constitution (President Mary McAleese)" <webmaster@president.ie>, "Peter Sutherland (Former Attorney General, Chairman of Goldman Sachs International Bank, Steering Committee Member of the Bilderberg Group, and European Chairman of the Trilateral Commission)" <trilateral.europe@wanadoo.fr>, "Garda Commissioner Noel Conroy (Chief Commissioner of Police, Republic of Ireland)" <comstaff@iol.ie>, "Chief Constable Sir Hugh Orde OBE" <information@nipolicingboard.org.uk>
CC: "Senator Ivana Bacik, Barrister and Reid Professor of Criminal Law, Criminology and Penology at Trinity College Dublin (TCD) Law School" <ivana.bacik@oireachtas.ie>, "Fianna Fail Party Leader, Prime Minister Bertie Ahern" <taoiseach@taoiseach.irlgov.ie>, "Dr Walter F. Murphy (Professor of Jurisprudence Emeritus at Princeton University)" <wmurphy37@comcast.net>, "Cllr Phillip Cantwell (MCC and Trim TC)" <PCantwell@meathcoco.ie>, "John Pilger (Documentary Film Maker)" <pilgereditor@gmail.com>, "Shauna Gillan (Barrister, Matrix Chambers, London)" <shaunagillan@matrixlaw.co.uk>, "John Reilly (Barrister, Tooks Chambers, London)" <clerks@tooks.co.uk>, "Dr Jimmy Devins TD (Minister of State at the Department of Health and Children)" <info@jimmydevins.ie>, "Crooked-Lawyer Catcher" <lawyercatcher@lawyer.com>, "Northern Ireland Social Security Agency (Reference Disability Case Reference 52-82267 for YH615974D)" <Private.Office@dsdni.gov.uk>, "Nikiforos Diamandouros (The European Ombudsman) Case ref: 1867/2006/IP )" <euro-ombudsman@europarl.eu.int>, "The Registrar, European Court of Human Rights, Council of Europe, Strasbourg. (Re: ECHR Case Reference: 25077/05)" <infopoint@coe.int>, "Prime Minister Gordon Brown MP" <webmaster@pmo.gov.uk>, "Kathy Sinnott MEP, European Parliament Committee on Petitions" <ksinnott@europarl.eu.int>, "Dr. Bob Bowman, Lt. Col., USAF, ret." <bob@thepatriots.us>, "Jose Manuel Barroso (Lawyer & President of European Union Commission)" <sg-web-president@ec.europa.eu>, "Marcin Libicki MEP (Chairman of European Parliament Committee on Petitions)" <marcin.libicki@europarl.europa.eu>, "Radu Podgorean MEP (European Parliament Committee on Petitions)" <radu.podgorean@europarl.europa.eu>, "Proinsias De Rossa MEP" <pderossa@europarl.eu.int>, "Mairead McGuinness MEP" <mmcguinness@europarl.eu.int>, "Stavros Dimas (Lawyer, and European Union Commissioner for Environment)" <stavros.dimas@ec.europa.eu>, "John Gormley TD (Green Party Leader & Minister for Environment, Heritage and Local Government)" <john.gormley@oireachtas.ie>, "US Senator Barack Obama (Constitutional/Civil Rights Lawyer & US Presidential Hopeful)" <info@barackobama.com>, "UNESCO World Heritage Centre (WHC)" <wh-info@unesco.org>, "World Monuments Fund" <wmf@wmf.org>, "Europa Nostra, Pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage (Mrs Sneška Quaedvlieg MihailoviŠ)" <sg@europanostra.org>, "Dr Gerard Hogan (Senior Constitutional Lawyer, Fellow, Trinity College, Dublin)" <hogang@tcd.ie>, "Greg Nolan (Lawyer at Patrick Hogan & Co., Ballinalsloe, County Galway, Republic of Ireland)" <greg@phoganandco.com>, "Gerard J Madden (Senior Social Worker, Omagh, County Tyrone, Northern Ireland)" <gmadden@slt.n-i.nhs.uk>, "Adrian O' Kane (Lawyer at Patrick Fahy & Co, Omagh.)" <adrian.okane@pfahy.com>, "Progressive Democrats Party Leader, Health Minister Mary Harney" <info@maryharney.ie>, "Gerald Finnerty & Marjorie Dolan (New Inn, County Galway)" <margieandgerald@yahoo.ie>, "European Commission Representation in Ireland" <eu-ie-info-request@ec.europa.eu>, "Michael Farrell (Lawyer, Irish Human Rights Commissioner)" <info@ihrc.ie>, "Willie Corduff, Rossport 5" <info@goldmanprize.org>, "Sir Anthony O'Reilly, Newspaper Proprietor" <independent.letters@unison.independent.ie>, "Fine Gael Party Leader, Enda Kenny" <Enda.Kenny@oireachtas.ie>, "Transparency International Ireland" <info@transparency.ie>, "Jack Straw MP" <lordchancellor@dca.gsi.gov.uk>, "Nancy Levant" <nlevant@juno.com>, "Dr Garrett Fitzgerald (Chancellor of the National University of Ireland)" <registrar@nui.ie>, "Law Society of Ireland" <general@lawsociety.ie>, "Former US President Bill Clinton" <clinton.library@nara.gov>, "Josep Borrell Fontelles (President of the European Parliament)" <webmasterpresident@europarl.eu.int>, "Sinn Fein Party Leader, Gerry Adams MP" <info@sinnfein.org>, "Liam Aylward MEP" <laylward@europarl.eu.int>, "Dr Mark Clinton (Heritage Protection Alliance of Ireland Co-ordinator)" <norahbk@eircom.net>, "Macquarie Bank (PPP Financiers)" <info@macquarie.com.au>, "David Cameron MP (Leader of UK Opposition Party)" <camerond@parliament.uk>, "Rev Ian Paisley, Democratic Unionist Party" <info@dup.org.uk>, "Labour Party Leader, Eamon Gilmore" <eamon.gilmore@oireachtas.ie>, "Marie Murray (Senior Psychologist & Irish Times Columnist)" <mmurray@irish-times.ie>, "Irish Examiner Newspaper" <jill.osullivan@tcm.ie>, "The Law Society of England and Wales" <info@lawsociety.org.uk>, "Majella Mc Carron (Shell to Sea)" <majella_mccarron@yahoo.co.uk>, "Eamon Ryan TD (Minister for Communications, Energy and Natural Resources" <eamon.ryan@oireachtas.ie>, "Sir Menzies Campbell QC MP" <info@libdems.org.uk>, "Suzon Forscey-Moore" <suzonfm@aol.com>, "Sky News" <news@sky.com>, "Geraldine Kennedy, Irish Times Editor" <gkennedy@irish-times.ie>, "Julitta Clancy" <julitta1@hotmail.com>, "Charlie Bird (RTE Chief News Correspondent)" <charlie.bird@rte.ie>, "Executive Intelligence Review" <eirns@larouchepub.com>, "Nelson Mandela" <nmf@nelsonmandela.org>, "Former President Mary Robinson (Ethical Globalization Initiative)" <info@eginitiative.org>, "RTE (Republic of Ireland's National TV Station)" <newsdesk@rte.ie>, "Dr Joseph E. Stiglitz (University Professor)" <jes322@columbia.edu>, "Ciara Macklin (Lawyer, Fair & Murtagh)" <ciaramacklin@fair-murtagh.ie>, "Meirion Bowen" <meirionbowen@btopenworld.com>, "Ashley Mote (Independent MEP for South East England Region)" <ashley.mote@btconnect.com>, "Michael Canney" <canneym@tcd.ie>, "President of the Council of the European Union (LuÝs Filipe Marques Amado)" <press.office@consilium.europa.eu>, "Irish Embassy - London" <christina.mccormack@dfa.ie>, "Patrick M. Wood" <editor@augustreview.com>, "Jacques Barrot (Vice-president of the European Commission with responsibility for Transport" <cab-archive-barrot@ec.europa.eu>, "Dr Paul Craig Roberts" <PaulCraigRoberts@yahoo.com>, "Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe (Thomas Hammarberg)" <commissioner.humanrights@coe.int>, "Gearoid Geraghty (Lawyer, Fair & Murtagh, Ballinasloe)" <gearoidgeraghty@fair-murtagh.ie>, "Jim Allister MEP" <jimallister@dup.org.uk>, Campaign@democracydefined.org, "Liam Cashman (Environmental Directorate, The European Commission)" <Liam-Joseph.Cashman@ec.europa.eu>, "Minister Trevor Sargent TD (Green Party)" <Trevor.Sargent@oireachtas.ie>, "Venice Commission (Council of Europe)" <venice@coe.int>, MhjnAshok2@aol.com, "PatrickReynolds (Irish in Britain Representation Group)" <patrickreynolds@hotmail.com>, "Dr John Wilson" <jhwilson@acay.com.au>, "The Irish Council for Civil Liberties (ICCL)" <info@iccl.ie>, "Amnesty International UK" <press@amnesty.org.uk>, "President George W. Bush" <president@whitehouse.gov>, "Ban Ki-moon (Secretary-General of the United Nations)" <public.participation@unece.org>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="0-1285677699-1195140306=:27341"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
Message-ID: <967575.27341.qm@web27005.mail.ukl.yahoo.com>
Content-Length: 9720

"Far more important perhaps, this Act also seems (to me at least) to have major implications for ALL of the citizens of the Republic of Ireland: who are of course all fully entitled, at all times, to be properly SERVED by our laws, by our law-enforcement agencies, and by our entire legal system."
 
=======================================
  
"Nobody told us" excuse decommissioned
by W. Finnerty. Sat Nov 10, 2007 11:43 
  
A few days ago I received an e-mail from a Republic of Ireland politician who read the above information regarding our "CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000" legislation, and who was obviously very pleased to learn of it.
  
The politician in question also expressed the belief that there are people "in positions of authority" (in the Republic of Ireland) who are badly in need of reading these particular pieces of information: which is a view I would VERY strongly agree with.
  
Yesterday I tried to ensure that some of our most senior public servants do read it, by sending the e-mail reproduced at the following address to a selection of them: http://www.europeancourtofhumanrightswilliamfinnerty.com/ChiefJusticeMurray/9November2007/Email.htm 
 
 
Prime Minister Ahern TD (Republic of Ireland) is among those the e-mail at the above address was sent to; and, for anybody interested, his is the second name in the "CC" section.
  
For good measure, and with Shannon (INTERNATIONAL Airport) in mind, I also decided to ensure a selection of international media organisations and personalities were informed regarding this particular piece of legislation, as well. Full details of the e-mail used can now be viewed at http://www.europeancourtofhumanrightswilliamfinnerty.com/Media/10November2007/Email.htm
  
As can be seen at the address just above, RTE (State Broadcaster, Republic of Ireland), and newspaper proprietor Sir Anthony O'Reilly (Republic of Ireland) are among those the information has been sent to.
  
Consequently, there is now irrefutable evidence on the Internet (for all the world to see) that all of those listed on the above-mentioned e-mails have been informed about where, EXACTLY, the Republic of Ireland stands regarding the gravely serious "torture" issue.
  
Allowing for the phrase "with the consent or acquiescence of a public official" contained in Article 1 of this legislation, it seems to me that this whole business has major implications for ALL of our public servants: not least all members of our gardaÝ (police) - provided of course that our CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000 is treated with the great care and respect it fully deserves (in my view): by being UPHELD and ENFORCED in practice. 
  
Far more important perhaps, this Act also seems (to me at least) to have major implications for ALL of the citizens of the Republic of Ireland: who are of course all fully entitled, at all times, to be properly SERVED by our laws, by our law-enforcement agencies, and by our entire legal system. 
  
Have we put "the cart before the horse" again? 
  
Instead of FIRST getting our human-rights "legal infrastructure" into good working order for the third millennium, we seem instead to be inappropriately giving such things as "road transport infrastructure" (for example) a much, much higher priority?
  
Hopefully, it's still not too late to reverse this shocking error (as I see things)?
  
=======================================
  
The above text has been copied from the following Indymedia (Ireland) location:
http://www.indymedia.ie/article/84853#comment211989
 
=======================
 
For future reference purposes a copy this e-mail will later today be placed at the following Internet address:
http://www.europeancourtofhumanrightswilliamfinnerty.com/ChiefJusticeMurray/15November2007/Email.htm 
 
=============
 
 
 
 


You're not bound to your email address, it's a snitch to switch. Give Yahoo! Mail a try.


 

              --- End of e-mail text ---

 

To be taken to the Front Page of this web site please click on the following link:

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com

 


Constitution of Ireland:
Bunreacht na hEireann

CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE
and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (United Nations):

http://www.google.com/search?q=CONVENTION+AGAINST+TORTURE&btnG=Google+Search 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE (UNITED NATIONS CONVENTION AGAINST TORTURE) ACT, 2000 (Republic Of Ireland):
http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/ZZA11Y2000.html

European Convention on Human Rights (Council of Europe):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=European+Convention+on+Human+Rights&btnG=Search

Universal Declaration of Human Rights (United Nations):
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&q=Universal+Declaration+of+Human+Rights&btnG=Search 


 

 

 

AltaVista        TRANSLATIONS        AltaVista  

     | Traductions | ▄bersetzungen | Traduzioni | Traduš§es | Traducciones |
| переводы | 翻訳  |  번역  |  
翻译 | Μεταφράσεις
|

 
   
     
  Please click on one of the National Flags to the left for translation into any of the languages represented.

For the full LIST of language translation facilities available please click on:
http://babelfish.altavista.com/

 
     
 
 
 

              Google
 
     
 

This web site is linked with:
www.constitutionofireland.com

 
     

www.EuropeanCourtOfHumanRightsWilliamFinnerty.com